Every year at this time, I say goodbye to the zen and relaxation of summer and gear up for work again.

Every year at this time I make a mental note to try to hold onto the person I am in this moment because I am so much nicer when I am relaxed like this.  I usually don’t make it very far.

There are a lot of changes at work this year.  A lot.  None of them are under my control and, as a control freak, that bothers me on a couple of levels… but I’m doing ok with it for the most part.  I have a lot of changes in mind but I haven’t solidified anything and that should bother me more than it currently does.  Next Wednesday is go time and I have no desire to hammer out the details of the changes I plan to implement.

And you know what?  I think I’m just going to go with it.  I need to relax more.  I need to be less rigid.  I need to be more of the person who can go with the moment.  Planning is great and I am an excellent planner… but planning isn’t everything.  Sometimes, in my profession, what you really need to do is learn to be spontaneous and go with the flow, relax about covering absolutely everything and focus more on making the experiences rich.

I have several goals for this year.  One of them is to learn to relax and take things as they come.  It’s going to be a challenge for sure.

Leave a Reply

