Cookie Crazy

Ever since I discovered the art of decorating cookies with royal icing, I’ve been a bit obsessed.

I want to do it all the time.

I want to be really crazy good at it.

I want to make cookies to delight the masses.

I’m not at all certain I’ll be able to achieve any of the above things, but I’m having fun trying.  And it has prompted me to finally bite the bullet on purchasing something I’ve wanted for a very long time… A Kitchenaid mixer.

I’m not sure why I fell in love with the darned things but I did.  And I’ve been saving up my cashback bonus on my credit card for YEARS determined to purchase one of those babies virtually for free.  (Don’t start to argue with me about cashback bonuses not being free due to interest, I don’t carry a balance on my credit card from month to month.  Learned that difficult lesson a long time ago.)  So my balance sat at $200 and I am well aware that the base model Kitchenaid costs roughly $250.  Then, if you figure that if I take $20 of that and purchase a gift card from Bed Bath & Beyond I get $25…. you start to see that I had pretty much achieved my goal.

And then I started to look around to purchase one.  Apparently BB&B doesn’t carry the base model anymore.  Well crap.  So I looked online at Amazon.com.  And then I started reading the reviews.  And then I started to wonder if I really wanted a Kitchenaid mixer at all.  The reviews were really terrible for the lower end models and I started to realize that I was going to have to spend some money to get a better model… or try out another brand, something I really didn’t want to do.

I agonized.  I researched.  I changed my mind a dozen times.

And then I found out you can purchase a refurbished Kitchenaid mixer right from their website.  This enabled me to purchase the Professional 600 series (which has the best reviews) for roughly %50 of its original cost.  Plus, there is a 6 month warranty.

kitchenaidAnd then I spent forever trying to choose a color.

And then I rejoiced at the $2 shipping deal.

And then two days later it arrived.  The color is nickel pearl.  The operation of it is easy.  I couldn’t believe how quickly I had whipped together a new batch of cookies.  I couldn’t believe how little work it was!  I can’t believe how lucky I am to own this thing!

I fully intend to work the crap out of it over the next 6 months to ensure all is well before the warranty is up.

 

Leave a Reply

