Looking Ahead: 2013

I never used to make resolutions at the New Year.

There were always things I thought I’d do in the upcoming year, and most of the time, it was lose weight.  However, it just seemed as though resolutions never worked for anyone.  They were a source of self-disappointment, something I think most of us could do without.

My attitude on resolutions has changed dramatically (likely due to my new love of goal setting) and while I certainly hope to lose weight this upcoming year, weight loss is not a resolution of mine.

What is?

Exercise.

Plain and simple: Exercise was a pretty big part of my life for a little while there and I’ve never fully come back from my car accident.  Old habits die hard and it was all too easy to fall into laziness again.  Throw in the extra back pain I now have and boy is it ever easy to find a reason not to exercise.

The problem is… I felt better when I exercised with a vengeance.  I felt empowered and alive and at peace with my body.  My body was never perfect, it was always overweight… but I didn’t hate my body… I took pride in it.  Sure it was a work in progress… but I’d made so very much progress!

I want that back.  I want that drive and dedication back.  I want to feel that way about my body again.  I want to climb a mountain one small step at a time.

So there you have it. I resolve to rekindle my love of exercise in 2013.

What’s your resolution?

Leave a Reply

