Lies my TV told me

Every time I look in the mirror right now I want to go back in time and remember what commercial it was where the attractive young girl said “Acne can last into your 20s” and I want to find those people and the product they make and I want to march into their offices, find the man in charge of creating that commercial, and shake him while saying something like “I’m 34, dammit, you people lied to me!  LIED!”

I have been blessed with great skin for most of my life.  Not that I haven’t had breakouts, because I have, just like everyone else.  There was also a brief period of time in 8th grade where my forehead looked like someone had pinned me down and shot tiny bullets at it for hours.

Anyway.  I’m sure I’m not unusual when I say I normally great a breakout around my period.  Totally normal.  Stupid hormones.

I had a strange period this last time though.  And then it was followed up by like a week and a half of extreme horniness.  Were I married or even in any sort of normal relationship, the man involved would be one happy camper right about now (or hiding from me in a closet because he’s chafed from too much sex, whichever) but I’m not and so this extreme surge in hormones has been interesting to say the least.

Gentlemen, I understand why you sometimes catcall now.

With this surge in hormones?  Oh yeah, I have the worst acne since that stint in 8th grade.  It’s horrifying to me.  I don’t know how to make it stop.  OR make them go away.  I just want to choke that lying bitch on that commercial who made me believe acne would last until I was in my late 20s and then it would be miraculously over.

The TV lies to you people, it lies.

 

Leave a Reply

