Habits

I tend to abandon blogs.  I stop getting the urge to write and then, after a while, it seems too long to go back. This post means I’m not abandoning this one.  I’m coming back to write even though it’s been so long since I’ve written anything.

Anyway, it’s fall, my favorite time of year.  Literally, I feel so alive in the fall.  Whether it’s the coolness of the air, or the gorgeous colors we never get to see for too long in nature, I don’t know…. but I absolutely love every second of it.  It also makes me restless.  Maybe it’s some old evolutionary relic of a desire to head for warmer temperatures before the cold hits, I don’t know.  I just get restless and agitated and I get the urge to create things.

You know the problem with feeling creative?

I’m just not that talented in much.  If I am talented at something creative, I sure haven’t found it yet.  And that’s ok.  Last year I finally got around to painting my bedroom.  I had this wonderful idea in my head and it revolved around this reddish/pinkish berry color.  And I swear on everything good on this Earth, the color below is NOT that color.

 

Seriously, this is not the color I picked out.  I mean, I am not a pink girl.  This is pink.  And the eggshell finish that I’d routinely used around the house made this single wall in my bedroom cast a garish pink light over everything.  I hated it.  I’d never liked it, I never warmed up to it and my bedroom just made me sneer.  So, on a whim, I decided to paint it.  I walked into the paint store and picked a blue.  I’ve always loved blue.  And, half a day later…

 

I had something far more “me” on my hands.  I love this color.  It looks like a navy in the picture but it’s more of a really deep turquoise.  It’s gorgeous.  It’s far more me.  I walk into my bedroom now and smile at this wall.  It’s insane, really, how much difference a little paint can make.  I also had the presence of mind to use a flat paint so the color didn’t bounce around the room.  Lesson learned.

After the wall was done (I moved my king sized bed all by myself.  To my horror, when I got home from the paint store, I found out the bed was NOT on wheels as I had once thought), I really wanted to have a headboard.  I haven’t had one since I moved out of my parents house.  I always feel kind of trashy not having a headboard but I’ve never really done much about it since it’s usually just gobs of money I don’t have… well, the nice ones, anyway.  So I got this hairbrained idea to make my own cloth covered, padded headboard.

And then I went to the fabric store and found out I’d be spending over 100 bucks in fabric, anyway.

So then I went to ebay and bought a really cheap, fabric covered headboard.

And then I think I threw my back out putting it together because it’s sitting in my hallway and I’ve been laid up for days.

So much for that creative urge, eh?

I’ll somehow manage to move my king size bed out from the wall again and attach this sucker to my bed once my back is better.  However, my chiropractor is out of town and so I’ve totally been suffering for far longer than I normally would have been.  In the meantime, that headboard isn’t going anywhere.

 

Leave a Reply

